Once a Work Request has been submitted by a client, you will have several options for what to do with it from the admin side of things. For starters, you can view all of your existing Work Requests from your menu at Planning–>Work Requests


A new Work Request that has not been modified or converted will have the following options available from the Options dropdown:


View

Viewing a Work Request will expand it’s details into the right-pane of the menu, similar to when you would view a Task inside a Project. From here you can see (and edit, using the pencil icon) all of the details of the Work Request, as well as view and respond to any comments on the request.


Edit

Selecting Edit from the dropdown will take you to a new page, with a layout similar to what a client sees when they create a new Work Request. From here you would be able to edit all of the fields of the request, including Name, Description, and associated Items.


Convert

Converting a Work Request allows you to turn that request into an Estimate, Invoice, or Project. When converting a Work Request, the details of the request will be transferred into an Estimate, Invoice, or Project respectively. It is important to note that the same Work Request cannot be converted into both an Estimate and an Invoice. Once one of those items are selected, conversion to either an Estimate or an Invoice will no longer be an option for that Work Request. However, you will still be able to convert the same Work Request to a Project if desired.


Once “Convert” is selected from the dropdown, a separate box will appear with several options:



Add Work Request(s) to New Invoice

Choose this option to create the Work Request as a new Invoice. Once converted, you will be redirected to the Add New Invoice page, where the Work Request details will be automatically transferred, and any Items from the Work Request will be automatically added to the new Invoice as billable Items. From there you can edit and add to the Invoice like normal.


Add Work Request(s) to Existing Invoice

If this option is chosen, another dropdown box will appear, in which you can select your desired existing Invoice to add the Work Request details and Items to. It is important to note that if you choose to add a Work Request to an existing Invoice, the second dropdown box will only be populated with existing Invoices that are related to the same client who is related to the Work Request you are converting.


Add Work Request(s) to New Estimate

Choose this option to create the Work Request as a new Estimate. Once converted, you will be redirected to the Add New Estimate page, where the Work Request details will be automatically transferred, and any Items from the Work Request will be automatically added to the new Estimate as billable Items. From there you can edit and add to the Estimate like normal.


Add Work Request(s) to Existing Estimate

If this option is chosen, another dropdown box will appear, in which you can select your desired existing Estimate to add the Work Request details and Items to. It is important to note that if you choose to add a Work Request to an existing Estimate, the second dropdown box will only be populated with existing Estimates that are related to the same client who is related to the Work Request you are converting.


Add Work Request(s) to New Project

Choose this option to create the Work Request as a new Project. Once converted, you will be redirected to the Dashboard for the new Project, where the Work Request details will be automatically transferred, and any Items from the Work Request will be automatically added to the new Project as Tasks that are assigned to you (the user who converted the request). From there you can edit and add to the Project and Tasks like normal.


Add Work Request(s) to Existing Project

If this option is chosen, another dropdown box will appear, in which you can select your desired existing Project to add the Work Request details and Items to. It is important to note that if you choose to add a Work Request to an existing Project, the second dropdown box will only be populated with existing Project that are related to the same client who is related to the Work Request you are converting.


Delete

Work Requests in Open status can be deleted, which will remove the request from the table and database. It is important to note that there is no undo for this action, so you will want to make absolutely certain you want to delete a Work Request before confirming this action.