To assign a file to a different user besides yourself, you will want to navigate to Files–>Manage Files, and select “Assign Users” from the Options dropdown next to the desired file.



From there, an overlaid box will allow you to manage the assignment permissions of the file. The content of the window will depend on what you choose from the “File Visibility” dropdown at the top.


If “Visible to Everyone” is selected, you will be able to apply basic permission limitations on the file, which will apply to all users in your installation (specifically, all users who have access to the Files menu):


Can Download

Check this box to allow all assigned users the ability to download the file.


Can Delete

Check this box to allow all assigned users the ability to delete the file.


Can Manage

Check this box to allow all assigned users the ability to upload and manage the different “versions” of the file.


If “Visible only to the following” is selected, you will have more granular control over the file permissions, on a user-by-user basis:


When using this method, you can control whether individual users can download, delete, manage, and assign the corresponding file, via the provided checkboxes.


NOTE: In order to utilize any of the granular permission controls for a particular, you will first want to check the box on the left-side, next to the user’s avatar. Once this box is checked, you can then select the individual permission checkboxes for that user.


Download

Check this box to give this user the ability to download the corresponding file.


Delete

Check this box to give this user the ability to delete the corresponding file.


Manage

Check this box to give this user the ability to upload and manage the different “versions” of the corresponding file.


Assign

Check this box to give this user the ability to assign the corresponding file to other users in the installation.


In addition to assign file permissions to individual users, you can also assign permissions to entire Circles from this same overlaid box. Simply scroll down to the bottom of the box to view your options for assigning to Circles. The exact same methods and functions described above (for assigning to individual users) apply here for assigning to Circles as well.


When the file assignments are set to your liking, just click Save to save your changes.